[Skip to Content]
Custom Text

ATA Honors UPS Driver

By on January 1, 2008

In 2005, William G. Gray, Jr., was named the Maryland State Driver of the Year. Now the Cumberland-based driver for UPS Freight is the American Trucking Associations’ 2007 National Truck Driver of the Year.

A 28-year veteran of the road with 2.7 million accident-free miles, Gray is a member of the Allegany County of Maryland Safety Coalition, teaching safe driving techniques to local teens and senior citizens.

“The trucking industry is proud to recognize Bill Gray as a professional who works hard every day to deliver what America needs — safely, efficiently and on time,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves. “His dedication to teaching the public safe driving practices and helping his community, as well as his stellar driving record, make Bill a very worthy Driver of the Year.”

England Brothers Honored

The University of Utah recently honored brothers Eugene and William England, of C.R. England, with a place in the David Eccles School of Business’ Hall of Fame. In recognition of the honor, Gene and Bill’s children contributed $1 million to the school, which will help subsidize the building of two large classrooms. The England brothers began working for the family business in their teens, and it has since grown into one of the largest trucking companies in the nation, employing more than 3,800 drivers and independent contractors, and operating four truck driving schools.

Spreading the Word

Jewel Porter of Copperas Cove, Texas, keeps telling other drivers about her company, CalArk, and getting them to sign on. She recently won the company’s bi-yearly referral contest and was awarded her very own truck. Tom Bartholomew, owner of CalArk and its sister company, Central Hauling Company, presented Porter with the keys on Oct. 5, 2007.

This is the twelfth truck the sister companies have awarded to drivers. Porter is the first female to win the contest.

Million Milers Recognized

KLLM Transport Services held its annual Million Mile Safe Driver Banquet recently to honor longtime safe drivers. Thirty-four drivers reached 1 million miles in 2007: Bob Adams, Fred Barnhart, Lionel C. Brown, Leland Campbell, Eric Cato, John D. Charlton, Willie Cook, James Couch, Max Dollar, Jr., Jose Esparza, Duncan Eric Evans, Freddie L. Fulford, Mario Garcia, Berry Gray, Steve Hayes, Donald Hinton, Sam Holston, Bobby Kirkland, Sherry Manning, Christopher McCarter, Mitch Mithchell, Billy Moore, Earl Moore, Bennie Perry, Vincent Richards, Edwin C. Rios, Roger Roberts, James Z. Robinson, Terry Salsbury, Tom Shahan, Taylor Lee, Chris Tedder, Glynn Traigle and Romey Warren.

Nine others marked 2 million safe miles in 2007: Dolyal Bickham of Jackson, Miss.; Michael L. Dumas of Farmerville, La.; Cecil J. Foret of Houma, La.; Jose M. Lopez, Jr. of Kingsville, Texas; Clayton Meeks of Naples, Fla.; Albert Pacheco of Irving, Texas; Gene Sturm of Lemoore, Calif.; Michael Walls of Bennetsville, S.C.; and Danny Williams of Tampa, Fla.

About Road King

For the professional Driver

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *