Custom Text

Driver News

By on September 1, 2008
RoadKing Mag

Minnesota Driver Wins National Safety Award

Jerry Van Emmerick, of Wheaton, Minn., has been named America’s Safest Truck Driver by The TLC Companies. Van Emmerick, who works for Lake Valley Trucking, Inc., received a $12,500 check during the annual Safety Top Dog program sponsored by The TLC Companies. Van Emmerik drives approximately 125,000 miles per year, and has been driving for Lake Valley Trucking since 1997. He qualified for the national safety award by having a clean driving record, no over-the-road accidents, and no workers’ compensation claims during the program year. He was chosen randomly from a pool of qualified candidates.

On the Calendar

Ryan Danylchurch, of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, won the Best of Show top prize of $10,000 at the 26th Annual Shell Rotella Superrigs competition in Walcott, Iowa, in June. Along with the prize money, Danylchurch’s 2001 Peterbilt 379 will be featured in the 2009 Rotella Superrigs calendar.

New Driver for Special Ride

For the second year in a row, Schneider National has been chosen by Freightliner as the official truckload carrier of Ride of Pride. The tractor trailer, which honors U.S. veterans and soldiers, will be driven by Gordon Turnovsky. Turnovsky has been driving for Schneider since 1992 and has been an active member of the U.S. Army for the past 18 years.

Forty Years With A. Duie Pyle

Phil Haag, of West Chester, Pa., and Roger Hannum, of Coatesville, Pa., are both celebrating 40 years with A. Duie Pyle. Hannum was recently recognized as a member of the Two Million Mile Club, having driven two million miles without incident, while Haag is part of the Million Mile Club.

Averitt Honors Drivers

Averitt Express recently honored 14 drivers, each for driving 20 years without incident for the company. Clarence Brooks, of Blountsville, Ala.; Randy Cox, of Burlington, Ky.; Donald Harned, of Hopkinsville, Ky.; Jack Harris, of London, Ky.; Ron Holsclaw, of Gray, Tenn.; John Hopper, of Olive Branch, Miss.; Bennie Johnson, of Livingston, Tenn.; David Kenyon, of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Kenneth Rogers, of Trenton, Ga.; Al Sauls, of Boaz, Ala.; Cliff Smith, of Guild, Tenn.; John Vinyard, of Gadsden, Ala.; Larry Williams, of Morgantown, Ky.; and Martin Wilson, of Trezevant, Tenn., are all being honored for their impeccable driving records as well as being part of the “Over 20 Team,” for employees with the company 20 or more years.

About Road King

For the professional Driver


  1. Pingback: relaxation city music relaxing download free

  2. Pingback: cancer healing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *