Custom Text

Trophy Life

By on July 1, 2008
RoadKing Mag

Winner announced

Donald Turkelson, of Battle Creek, Mich., was named the winner of Arrow Truck Sales’ Back on the Road 2008 Contest at the Mid-America Trucking Show in Louisville, Ky. The contest was designed to benefit a deserving owner-operator in need of a truck and job due to unfortunate circumstances. Turkelson was shot  in his left leg as he was protecting his truck from a hijacker. “Donald has an amazing story to tell and a great spirit,” said Carl Heikel, president and CEO of Arrow. “Arrow is proud to give him the opportunity to get back on the road with a quality truck from Volvo and a job from Heartland Express.”

Tops in ’08

Don Dupuis, of St. Cloud, Minn., was named the Special Carriers & Rigging Association’s Truck Driver of the Year. Dupuis has driven more than 2 million accident-free miles for Anderson Trucking Service. His coworkers say he is “the kind of driver every company dreams about. He takes great pride in his job, and he is great with equipment, the load and everybody he interacts with.”

Award winner to help others

Jeana Hysell, of Versailles, Ohio, has been named the first Safety Professional of the Year by the Ohio Trucking Association. Hysell is currently the Safety Director for Classic Carriers, Inc., where she amassed more than 2 million accident-free miles during her time as a driver.

A member of Women in Trucking (WIT) for the past year, she has chosen to use the $1,000 honorarium to help other women find success in the trucking industry by setting up a scholarship for women with the help of WIT. 

Beauty contest winners

Truett Novosad, of Caldwell, Texas, was awarded the Truck-Lite Trophy from the National Association of Truck Shows (NAST) at MATS for his blue and white 2001 Peterbilt. He and his wife, Melissa, have been participating in truck beauty shows for four years.

Gerald Kissinger, of Stoughton, Wis., won second place for his 1991 Mack Superliner and 2006 Great Dane trailer.

Rick and Jennifer Hitchcock, of Webberville, Mich., won third place for their red and white 2005 Peterbilt 379.

Safety counts

Luis Alfonso, of Kearny, N.J., was awarded the 2007 Driver Safety Grand Prize from the Evans Network of Companies. Alfonso was given a Harley Davidson motorcycle for his safe driving record and practices.

Alfonso has been driving for Evans Network since December 2006. He has been a driver for the past 10 years, since moving from Cuba to the U.S.

 “Luis’ driving record demonstrates an outstanding commitment to safety and I’m proud our drivers value every phase of safety, just as Luis does,” said Matthew “Bo” Bates, vice president of Evans Network.

Ruan rewards safety record

Jimmie Harris, of Geneva, Ill., recently received the Ruan Million Mile Safety Award which recognizes his one million miles of accident-free driving for Ruan. “Professional drivers know that completing one million miles is one of the most elusive achievements on the highway,” says  Tom Netcher, Harris’ terminal manager. “We are blessed to have a skilled professional like Jimmie working for Ruan.”


About Road King

For the professional Driver

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *